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State of Maine: Notice of Agency Rulemaking:   Wednesday, January 8, 2025  ONLINE 

 
 
NOTICE OF STATE RULEMAKING 
 
PUBLIC INPUT FOR RULES A list of state agency rule proposals is published here each Wednesday. 
You can get a copy of a proposed rule by contacting the person listed in the notice. You can comment 
on a proposed rule by submitting a written comment to the agency or by attending the public hearing, 
if one is scheduled. If no hearing is scheduled, you can request one.  The agency must hold a hearing if 
it receives 5 or more requests.  If you have a disability and need assistance to participate in a hearing 
you should tell the agency at least 7 days before the hearing. ONLINE INFORMATION Weekly 
notices, full text of adopted rules, and a list of agency rulemaking contacts are available at this website: 
https://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/index.html  
 

PROPOSALS 

 
None. 
 

ADOPTIONS 

 
AGENCY: 90-590 Maine Health Data Organization 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 800: Uniform Reporting of Wholesale Acquisition Costs 
for Insulin (Major Substantive Rule) 
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2024-309 

 
CONCISE SUMMARY:   
 
This provisionally adopted rule is being proposed to implement the requirements in Public Law 2023, 
chapter 610, specifically Title 22, MRSA § 8732, sub-§3. 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Not Applicable (this is a major substantive rule that has been provisionally 
adopted, not finally adopted). 
 
CONTACT PERSON:   Karynlee Harrington, Executive Director 
AGENCY NAME:  Maine Health Data Organization 
ADDRESS:             151 Capitol Street 
                             12 State House Station 
                                      Augusta, ME  04333-0102 
TELEPHONE:         (207) 287-6722 
 

 
AGENCY: 90-590 Maine Health Data Organization 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 100 Enforcement Procedures (Major Substantive Rule) 
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2024-310 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY:   
 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.maine.gov%2Fsos%2Fcec%2Frules%2Findex.html&data=05%7C02%7CJ.Chris.Parr%40maine.gov%7C645b27059f0346864d7008dc94834bf0%7C413fa8ab207d4b629bcdea1a8f2f864e%7C0%7C0%7C638548538834447354%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=K93i9Iukz%2F4M1hnG1XnmVSNiEpRD2zB99vb6RheIZ8A%3D&reserved=0
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The provisionally adopted rule changes are to ensure compliance with new rules 90-590 C.M.R. Chapters 
340 and 800. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Not Applicable (this is a major substantive rule that has been provisionally 
adopted, not finally adopted). 
 
CONTACT PERSON:   Karynlee Harrington, Executive Director 
AGENCY NAME:  Maine Health Data Organization 
ADDRESS:            151 Capitol Street 
                           12 State House Station 
                                     Augusta, ME  04333-0102 
TELEPHONE:          (207) 287-6722 
 

 
AGENCY: 06-096 Department of Environmental Protection  
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: 375 No Adverse Environmental Effect Standards of the Site 
Location of Development Act 
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2024-311 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY: 
 
The Department has provisionally adopted major substantive amendments to Chapter 375, No Adverse 
Environmental Effect Standards of the Site Location of Development Act. In P.L. 2023 ch. 448, the 
Legislature directed the Department to establish a compensation fee program for renewable energy 
development projects, specifically solar energy development, wind energy development, and high-
impact transmission lines that trigger the Site Location of Development law.  The new statute requires 
this program to allow for the payment of a compensation fee when the Department determines that off-
site habitat improvement or preservation is necessary to mitigate the adverse effects of a renewable 
energy development on large undeveloped habitat blocks, important wildlife corridors, and other 
habitat types identified in consultation with the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife.  The 
provisionally adopted amendments define these habitat resources and establish a compensation fee 
program. The amendments will be submitted to the legislature for the major substantive review process 
in the legislative session commencing in January. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Not Applicable (this is a major substantive rule that has been provisionally 
adopted, not finally adopted). 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: 
Naomi Kirk-Lawlor 
17 State House Station 
Augusta, Me 04333 
Phone: 207-287-7844  
naomi.kirk-lawlor@maine.gov  
 

 
AGENCY: 10-144 Department of Health and Human Services -Maine Center for Disease Control 
and Prevention 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: 10-144 CMR Chapter 266 - Certification Standards for Persons 
Conducting Chemical Analyses For The Detection And Identification Of Drugs 
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2025-001 

mailto:naomi.kirk-lawlor@maine.gov
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CONCISE SUMMARY:  
 
The Department adopted emergency routine technical amendments to its Certification Standards for 
Persons Conducting Chemical Analyses for the Detection and Identification of Drugs Rule to reduce the 
State’s backlog of forensic tests by updating qualifications required of certified lab analysts to 
immediately address laboratory capacity. 
 
This emergency rule repeals the minimum number of academic semester hours a lab analyst is required 
to have completed in specific subjects.  This requirement has been replaced with educational and training 
requirements that focus on competency testing, completion of specialized Department-approved 
training, and/or experience in an accredited Forensic Testing laboratory.  These amendments further 
require that a certified lab analyst’s work be performed only in a lab that meets international standards 
for testing and calibration laboratories (ISO 17025 standards). This update more appropriately ensures 
that lab analysts are qualified through competency testing and accreditation standards, which is the 
standard practice in the industry. In addition, the Department revised the requisite length of time a 
certificate is valid from five years to one year (Section 8), consistent with other Department-issued 
certifications and ANSI-ANAB standards.  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Thursday, January 2, 2025 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: 
NAME:          Bridget Danis 
ADDRESS:    286 Water St., Augusta, ME 04333 
TELEPHONE:   207-287-9394 
E-MAIL ADDRESS:   Bridget.Danis@maine.gov   
DEPARTMENT WEBSITE:  https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking 
AGENCY WEBSITE:   http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/rules/ 
 

 
AGENCY: 99-650 Combat Sports Authority of Maine 
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Chapter 2, Fees for Muay Thai Contests and Authorized Participants 
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2024-269 
 
CONCISE SUMMARY: 
 

This rulemaking establishes Chapter 2 of the Authority's Rules for Muay Thai, which sets fees 
charged for certification of official event participants. The fees will be used to finance in part 
activities regulated by routine technical rules regulating the sport. Fees established by the rule 
are: 
 

I. Event  Fee.................... ................. ...........................$100 per reserved  event 

2. Promoter ................................................................................................................. $30 

3. Matchmaker ............................................................................................................ $30 

4. Judge ....................................................................................................................... $30 
5. Kickboxer ................................................................................................................ $30 

6. Referee, Manager, Second, Trainer, Cutperson, Cornerpersons ................. $30 

7. Physician .................................................................................................................$30 

8. Timekeeper/Scorekeeper ...................................................................................... $30 

mailto:Bridget.Danis@maine.gov
https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/about/rulemaking
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/rules/
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9. Inspectors ............................................................................................................... $00 
 
Certifications issued for categories 2 through 9 are good from the time of being granted to the 
next thirtieth day of June. 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Not Applicable. This is a major substantive rule that has been provisionally 
adopted, not finally adopted. 
 
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: 
Christoper Guild, Chairperson Combat Sports Authority of Maine 

P.O. Box 10525 

Portland, ME 04104 
Phone: 207-800-7374 
Email: combatsportsmaine@yahoo.com  
 

 
 

mailto:combatsportsmaine@yahoo.com

